Contributing authors

- M. I. AROYO: Departamento de Física de la Materia Condensada, Facultad de Ciencia y Tecnología, Universidad del País Vasco, Apartado 644, E-48080 Bilbao, Spain. [Computer production of Parts 2 and 3, 1.1, 1.7, 2.1, 2.2, 2.3]
- Y. BILLIET‡: Département de Physique, UFR des Sciences et Techniques, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, F-29200 Brest, France. [2.1.5, 2.2, 2.3]
- C. CAPILLAS: Departamento de Física de la Materia Condensada, Facultad de Ciencia y Tecnología, Universidad del País Vasco, Apartado 644, E-48080 Bilbao, Spain. [1.7]
- F. GÄHLER: Fakultät für Mathematik, Universität Bielefeld, Postfach 100131, D-33501 Bielefeld, Germany. [1.3]
- V. GRAMLICH§: Laboratorium für Kristallographie, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule, Sonnegstrasse 5, ETH-Zentrum, CH-8092 Zürich, Switzerland. [2.4, 2.5]
- A. KIROV: Faculty of Physics, University of Sofia, bulvd. J. Boucher 5, BG-1164 Sofia, Bulgaria. [Computer production of Parts 2 and 3]

‡ Present address: 8 place des Jonquilles, F-29860 Bourg-Blanc, France.

 \S Present address: Guggachstrasse 24, CH-8057 Zürich, Switzerland.

- P. B. KONSTANTINOV: Institute for Nuclear Research and Nuclear Energy, 72 Tzarigradsko Chaussee, BG-1784 Sofia, Bulgaria. [Computer production of Parts 2 and 3]
- E. B. KROUMOVA: Departamento de Física de la Materia Condensada, Facultad de Ciencia y Tecnología, Universidad del País Vasco, Apartado 644, E-48080 Bilbao, Spain. [Computer production of Parts 2 and 3]
- U. MÜLLER: Fachbereich Chemie, Philipps-Universität, D-35032 Marburg, Germany. [Computer production of Parts 2 and 3, 1.1, 1.5, 1.6, 3, Appendix]
- G. NEBE: Lehrstuhl D für Mathematik, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule, D-52062 Aachen, Germany. [1.4]
- J. M. PEREZ-MATO: Departamento de Física de la Materia Condensada, Facultad de Ciencia y Tecnología, Universidad del País Vasco, Apartado 644, E-48080 Bilbao, Spain. [1.7]
- H. WONDRATSCHEK: Laboratorium für Applikationen der Synchrotronstrahlung, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), D-76128 Karlsruhe, Germany. [1.1, 1.2, 1.7, 2, Appendix]

Acknowledgments

Work on Parts 1 and 2 of this volume was spread out over a long period of time and there have been a number of colleagues and friends who have helped us in the preparation of this book. We are particularly grateful to Professor Th. Hahn, RWTH Aachen, Germany, not only for providing the initial impetus for this work but also for his constant interest and support. His constructive proposals on the arrangement and layout of the tables of Part 2 improved the presentation of the data and his stimulating comments contributed considerably to the content and the organization of Part 1, particularly Chapter 1.2.

Chapter 1.1 contains a contribution by Professor Y. Billiet, Bourg-Blanc, France, concerning isomorphic subgroups.

Nearly all contributors to this volume, but particularly Professors J. Neubüser and W. Plesken, RWTH Aachen, and Professor M. I. Aroyo commented on Chapter 1.2, correcting the text and giving valuable advice. Section 1.2.7 was completely reworked after intensive discussions with Professor V. Janovec, University of Liberec, Czech Republic, making use of his generously offered expertise in the field of domains. We thank Professor H. Bärnighausen, Universität Karlsruhe, Germany, for discussions and advice on Chapter 1.6.

In the late 1960s and early 1970s, J. Neubüser and his team at RWTH Aachen calculated the basic lattices of non-isomorphic subgroups by computer. The results now form part of the content of the tables of Chapters 2.2 and 2.3. The team provided a great deal of computer output which was used for the composition of earlier versions of the present tables and for their checking by hand. The typing and checking of the original tables was done with great care and patience by Mrs R. Henke and many other members of the Institut für Kristallographie, Universität Karlsruhe.

The graphs of Chapters 2.4 and 2.5 were drawn and checked by Professor W. E. Klee, Dr R. Cruse and numerous students and technicians at the Institut für Kristallographie, Universität Karlsruhe, around 1970. M. I. Aroyo rechecked the graphs and transformed the hand-drawn versions into computer graphics.

We are grateful to Dr L. L. Boyle, University of Kent, Canterbury, England, who read, commented on and improved all parts of the text, in particular the English. We thank Professors J. M. Perez-Mato and G. Madariaga, Universidad del País Vasco, Bilbao, for many helpful discussions on the content and the presentation of the data. M. I. Aroyo would like to note that most of his contribution to this volume was made during his previous appointment in the Faculty of Physics, University of Sofia, Bulgaria, and he is grateful to his former colleagues, especially Drs J. N. Kotzev and M. Mikhov, for their interest and encouragement during this time.

We are indebted to Dr G. Nolze, Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung, Berlin, Germany, for checking the data of Chapter 3.2 using his computer program *POWDER CELL*. We also thank Mrs S. Funke and Mrs H. Sippel, Universität Kassel, Germany, who rechecked a large part of the relations of the Wyckoff positions in this chapter.

Mrs S. E. Barnes and the rest of the staff of the International Union of Crystallography in Chester, in particular Dr N. J. Ashcroft, took care of the successful technical production of this volume.

We gratefully acknowledge the financial support received from various organizations which helped to make this volume possible: in the early stages of the project from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Germany, and more recently from the Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, Germany, the International Union for Crystallography, the Sofia University Research Fund and the Universidad del País Vasco, Bilbao.